UPCOMING EVENTS

Remembrance Day and our 47th Anniversary are upcoming in November. 

ANNUAL REMEMBRANCE DAY SERVICE

Each year on Remembrance Day we gather to ensure we never forget. The helicopter landing area behind The Hangar Flight Museum was once a parade square during the Second World War as part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. Our wonderful neighbours Eagle Copters have been kind enough to partner with us to host the service in this space for the past few years. Snow or shine we find a way to remember. 

In 2021 our service was live broadcasted and livestreamed with CTV Calgary (CTVNewsCalgary.ca). In the afternoon the Museum was open from 1pm-5pm with admission by donation. 

Information about our 2022 service is coming soon, please check back to this page. 

NATIONAL AVIATION DAY

Each year on the anniversary of the first powered flight in Canada, the Silver Dart on February 23, we celebrate the opportunities that aviation has provided to our society. This event is aimed to entertain the entire family. 

Thank you to YYC who partnered with us to make this event happen!

Our 2022 celebrations included Family Day, National Aviation Day and National Aviation Weekend. 

In 2020 we had a photo booth featuring the inside of our Lancaster since in February it was too chilly to be inside the real plane. Here are a few of the fun photos from the photo booth: 

ANNUAL FATHER'S DAY WEEKEND EVENT: WINGS AND WHEELS

Each year on Father's Day weekend we partner with local car clubs to bring in special "wheels" to join our wings. It's a ton of fun for the whole family and includes activities such as: touring the inside of a selection of our aircraft, crafts, vehicle show and shine, and helicopter city tours.

NOW BOARDING: OPEN AIRCRAFT DAYS 

One of the most highly requested experiences at The Hangar Flight Museum is the ability to sit in our aircraft. Our aircraft are historical artifacts so we do our best to protect them by performing preventative maintenance as well as requiring clean closed-toe shoes for this experience.

Now Boarding is now complete for 2022. The planes that were accessible in rotation on Saturday, Sunday, and holidays from Father's Day to Labour Day were:

  • Avro Lancaster (sponsored by Calgary Airport Authority): Friday July 1, Saturday July 16, Sunday July 31, Saturday August 20, Saturday September 3
  • F-86 Sabre (sponsored by RJC Engineers): Sunday June 26, Saturday July 9, Sunday July 24, Sunday August 7, Saturday August 27
  • Beechcraft 18 (sponsored by North Caribou Air): Saturday June 25, Sunday July 10, Saturday August 6, Saturday August 13, Sunday August 28
  • DeHavilland Twin Otter (sponsored by Kenn Borek Air): Sunday July 3, Saturday July 23, Monday August 1, Sunday August 21, Sunday September 4
  • Douglas DC-3 (sponsored by Buffalo Airways): Saturday July 2, Sunday July 17, Saturday July 30, Sunday August 14, Monday September 5
  • The event will be extended from September 5 to September 24 instead (sponsored by Avro Technik): 
    Saturday September 10: Beechcraft 18
    Sunday September 11: F-86 Sabre
    Saturday September 17: DC-3
    Sunday September 18: Twin Otter
    Saturday September 24: Lancaster

Closed-toe shoes must be worn for this experience. Gloves and bump-hats will be provided for entry into the Avro Lancaster.